Cellitinnen Augustinian Sisters

About Us

Our Congregation was founded on 19th November 1838 and was approved as a religious institute of Diocesan Right in the Archdiocese of Cologne. The roots of our Congregation go back to the 13th century, a time, when there had been numerous Begine Convents, available for works of charity. Later they called themselves ‘Cellitinnen’. The official name of the congregation is: The Congregation of the Cellitines according to the Rule of St. Augustine. However, we in India call ourselves as Augustinian Sisters. We add OSA (Order of St. Augustine) to our names.

Our Founder sisters are:

• Sr. Dominica Katharina Barth
• Sr. Xaveria Christine Lüssen
• Sr. Aloysia Katharina Tychon
• Sr. Antonia Katherina Sporken

Our charism began with the call of our founder sisters to care for the neglected sick patients in the Government hospital. They were working under Government lay administration which caused them much to follow the Lord. They practiced patience, tolerance, endurance, perseverance with the administration and suffered much for the love of the Lord and practiced compassionate love for the suffering patients. It took them 30 years to begin on their own.

We celebrate August 28 the feast day of our Patron as the feast day of our congregation.
Our Mother house is in Germany. Besides Germany we are in Belgium and in India. In India we bagn in 1967. We have a province and two regions in India. In India we have 27 convents. In India we have sisters from Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Assam and Odisha.
We were a diocesan congregation. On January 25, 2011, we were declared a Congregation of Pontifical right.